Core Faculty

 

Salem Abo-Zaid
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Monetary Economics, Macroeconomics, Fiscal Policy.
Phone: 410-455-2498 Email: salem.abozaid@umbc.edu   Location: PUP 328

 

Michael Andrews
Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Economic History, Economics of Innovation & Entrepreneurship, Applied Micro 
Phone:  410-455-6590   Email:  mandrews@umbc.edu    Location: PUP 327

 

Maria Bernedo Del Carpio
Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Environmental, Behavioral, Experimental, and Urban and Regional Economics
Phone: 410-455-2068     Email: mbernedo@umbc.edu     Location: PUP 332

 

Nicolas Castro Cienfuegos
Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Productivity, Networks in Economics
Phone: 410-455-2173     Email: ncastro@umbc.edu     Location: PUP 325

 

Dennis C. Coates
Professor
Research Interests: Public Choice, Public Finance, Sports Economics.
Phone: 410-455-3243     Email: coates@umbc.edu     Location: PUP 323

 

Maryann Davenport
Lecturer
Phone: 410-455-2177      Email: mdaven@umbc.edu    Location: PUP 326

 

Lisa M. Dickson
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Labor Economics, Economics of Education, Econometrics.
Phone: 410-455-2176      Email: ldickson@umbc.edu     Location: PUP 322

 

Oleg Firsin
Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Int’l Trade, Labor Economics, Development Economics, Applied Microeconomics.
Phone: 410-455-2171     Email: ofirsin@umbc.edu   Location: PUP 335

 

Thomas H. Gindling
Professor, Graduate Program Director
Research Interests: Economic Development.
Phone: 410-455-3629     Email: tgindlin@umbc.edu   Location: PUP 330

 

Douglas J. Lamdin
Professor
Research Interests: Financial Economics, Public Finance, Financial Literacy.
Phone: 410-455-2672     Email: lamdin@umbc.edu   Location: PUP 329

 

Bing Ma
Lecturer
Phone: 410-455-8039        Email: bingma@umbc.edu    Location: PUP 339

 

Suzann Medicus
Director of Accounting Program, Lecturer
Phone: 410-455-2178      Email: medicus@umbc.edu     Location: PUP 342

 

 

David F. Mitch
Professor, Department Chair
Research Interests: American and European Economic History.
Phone: 410-455-2157     Email: mitch@umbc.edu   Location: PUP 337

 

Se Mi Park
Assistant Professor
Research Interests: International Trade, Institutional Economics, Economic Development.
Phone: 410-455-2174     Email: smpark@umbc.edu   Location: PUP 333

 

Morgan J. Rose
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Applied Microeconomics, Corporate Finance, Corporate Governance, Industrial Organization, Financial Institutions.
Phone: 410-455-8485     Email: mrose@umbc.edu   Location: PUP 341

 

Mark Thomas
Associate Chair / Lecturer
Phone: 410-455-6593     Email: mathomas@umbc.edu   Location: PUP 363

 

Christelle K. Viauroux
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Theoretical and Applied Econometrics, Structural Applied Microeconomics, Matching Theory.
Phone: 410-455-3117     Email: ckviauro@umbc.edu   Location: PUP 336

 

Chunming Yuan
Associate Professor
Research Interests: International Economics/Finance, Financial Economics, Econometrics.
Phone: 410-455-2314      Email: cmyuan@umbc.edu     Location: PUP 324